Author Topic: How to speed up my Jeep for the everyday drive.  (Read 1454 times)

sickjeepjohn

How to speed up my Jeep for the everyday drive.
« on: August 26, 2009, 11:53:47 PM »
I am new to Jeep ownership and I was wondering if there is a way to get my jeep moving faster than 60 mph? Hopefully something that is not going to cost a lot. My Jeep is a 1991 wrangler 2.5L 5 speed. 3.5 inch lift 31" tires. I wanna jump on and off the interstate without getting the middle finger. Thanks.

jcsanders79

Re: How to speed up my Jeep for the everyday drive.
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2009, 05:40:18 AM »
A regear is the best way.  There is the trottle body swap and spacer (bountyhunter in the vendors section can hook you up), electric fan, mustang injectors, air intake, header......

jdarg

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2009, 11:34:05 AM »
If you are still using your overdrive 5th gear that is the root of your problem. Forget it even exists.

The 2.5L will gladly turn 3000-3500 rpm all day long on the interstate in 4th gear so don't worry about the revs. The mileage will probably be better than bogging the engine in 5th at the same speed too.

« Last Edit: August 27, 2009, 11:34:43 AM by jdarg »

Banshee600

« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2009, 01:07:53 PM »
get with bounty hunter and get the 62mm tb and spacer hog out the intake to match the dia. of the spacer so far that the best mod of donefor the price. I run on the freeway everyday here in washington with hills and run in 5th gear at 65 mph all the way with gas pedal to spare. my tires are 32 bfg mudders and 4:10 gears.

Offline sharpxmen

• Chief Squirrel BlowerŪ
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2009, 02:51:00 PM »
get with bounty hunter and get the 62mm tb and spacer hog out the intake to match the dia. of the spacer so far that the best mod of donefor the price. I run on the freeway everyday here in washington with hills and run in 5th gear at 65 mph all the way with gas pedal to spare. my tires are 32 bfg mudders and 4:10 gears.