Author Topic: How much lift?  (Read 1037 times)

jeepnfahey

How much lift?
« on: January 29, 2007, 10:11:53 AM »
Hello all,
I am kind of new to this fourm. Well any way last spring I bought a 95 yj. I love the Jeep. I have a problme I know I want to lift my jeep this spring I just dont want to spend a lot of money doing it. I am a college student and I have a small boudget. I would like to lift it around 3 inches. I have looked at many lift kits all over the web, but I am not going to be spending 800+$ on a 3inch lift. I have come acrose these two ideas.

I have found a kit online that is a Add a leaf 2.5 inch kit. Comes with the add a leafes and drop pitman arm and trasfure  case drop.

Or
I could get the Rusty complete 4 inch kit.  I think 4 inches would be over kill.

I am looking just to run 31's maybe 32's. I don't have the cash to re gear so I don't want anything bigger then 32's.

I just don't know what to do?
What are the pros and cons of both kits? Does any one have these kits? Please let me know.

Thanx I have to say that i love this site it has help a lot with some of my 4 banger issues.  :?

Offline neale_rs

How much lift?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2007, 12:11:19 PM »
The cheapest way would be to trim the fenders and add no lift.  Next woud be a 2 inch body lift.  Third would be a 1 inch body lift and 1 inch shackle lift.  After that it would start to cost a lot more.
'95 YJ, 33 x 12.5 mud tires, RE 4.5 ED lift, Atlas 4 speed, rear D44, ARBs front and rear, 4.56 gears, 8000# winch

Jesse-James

How much lift?
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2007, 06:21:54 AM »
Add a leaf will be a terrible ride. And don't go with the cheapest lift kit you can find, you get what you pay for most of the time. 1" lift shackles and a 1" body lift sounds like a winner to me. Splitting the lift between the two will keep it safe. You don't want to get into ridiculous shackles or tall body lifts.

might4banger

How much lift?
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2007, 06:03:33 PM »